h1

St. Petersburg’s “White Nights”

September 3, 2010

by Charlie


“I have a dream” – Martin Luther King.

“I had a dream…”- Stephenie Meyer

These most famous phrases have caused some really big changes in some people’s life. 😉

The dream of which one of my colleagues told me the other day was not as significant but it reminded me of a phenomenon and a city I really hope to visit one day. I am talking about St. Petersburg in Russia and its “White Nights”.

St. Petersburg is the world’s most northern city with a population over one million and every year in the summer you can be part of this wonder of nature which occurs from beginning of June till middle of July.  Although this phenomenon is not unique to the city, no other northern town is that known for this event.

From the beginning of the sunset the sun does not descend below the horizon enough for the sky to grow dark. During this twilight the sky seems to glow silver, hence the name “White Nights”.

Even in August you can experience this spectacle.  In the beginning of the last month of the summer it is still not completely dark at midnight.

Leave a comment